Cotton Chenille Quilt

Hi there.. first I would like to say that this is not a pictorial and I am not offering instructions on the construction of a chenille quilt. I am describing the steps I took to make a cotton fabric chenille quilt. I do not have enough experience in making the chenille quilts to offer any kind of expertise. I hope you enjoy this Thread.

First, I chose a good quality cotton for 2 reasons. 1) The quilts were for gifts. and 2) I believe that the better quality cotton fabric you use, the better the chenille results will be.

I used the full width of the fabric and for this it was 45 ” wide including the salvage edge, which I have left on. It will be trimmed after the sewing is finished.

I cut the length of the fabric to 74″ each. Hoping to get as close to 72″ when all the stitching and shrinking are done.

I picked out a dark red pattern for the front panel and a light coloured small print for the back( Flowered). For the middle  layers I chose another dark red to back the main panel and decided on 2 layers of the beige colour star fabric.

DSC_0037

DSC_0044Starting with the flowered fabric and clearing out the living room floor( my biggest work area ) 🙂 I spread the fabric and smoothed it as I went, fabric face down. In after thought, masking tape here and there on this layer would have been helpful.

DSC_0046

Then smoothing the next 2 layers of the star material on top of the flowered, also face down.

DSC_0039

Then came the dark red checked, also face down. I think you get the picture 🙂

DSC_0040

Now for the top panel of dark red print, this goes down face up. and I have my box of safety pins ready.

DSC_0042Once I am satisfied all the layers are smooth ( no wrinkles between the layers) I start pinning the layers together, trying to keep the edges in line.

DSC_0050

Before I starting stitching, I used tailors chalk and draw a straight line from top right corner to bottom left corner on the top panel. It will wash out. Using a burgundy thread on top and an ivory thread in the bobbin, I stitched right on the chalk line.

DSC_0052

Turning the material at the other end I began to stitch 1/2 inch away from the first stitch line. I adjusted my needle position. and continued like this in an outward pattern. Smoothing the layers and removing the pins as I went along.

DSC_0056

DSC_0059

I used new garden gloves that have the tiny vinyl nubs on them which proved very handy in getting a good grip on the material. All that fabric together was quite heavy and my hands began to ache after a while. It took my about 3 afternoon sittings to get the sewing done.

DSC_0057

DSC_0124

Once the layers are stitched together I made a small cut in the bottom 3 layers to show how the dark red checkered fabric would show through and disguise the back of the front panel, also giving weight to the front panel.

DSC_0122

DSC_0127

DSC_0132

DSC_0129

I found it easier to snip the edges with a scissors. and finish using a chenille cutter using the 1/2 setting. My gloves were ideal for this too as I found that the pieces protruding from the chenille cutter stuck into the palm of my hand. But it glided along like a hot knife through butter 🙂

DSC_0134

You can see here how the dark red checkered fabric shows through.

DSC_0137

The next step is trimming the whole quilt, which is squaring the edges up and trimming off the salvage and the rough ends and loose threads. I cut 3 inch strips of light coloured fabrics to make the bias for the edges of the quilt. Sewing them together as you see in the picture. ( a bit over kill with the pics I know) 😀

DSC_0141

DSC_0146

DSC_0148

DSC_0149

Trimming to 1/4 ” seam and pressing.

DSC_0152

I start somewhere along the side of the quilt with the bias, folding over the starting edge. Stitch a 1/2″ seam all the way around the quilt. I rounded the corners for an easier fit of the bias.

DSC_0154

I do like my straight pins 🙂

DSC_0155

DSC_0156

DSC_0159

Joining the start and finish of the bias. I hand stitch the bias to the top panel. once the bias is stitch on, its time to wash the quilt. Cool or cold water on a regular cycle and in the dryer until the chenille is fluffy. With the cotton chenille quilt the first washing doesn’t fluff up as much as the flannel will, but with every washing it will fluff a little more each time. I have also included a photo of a flannel chenille quit I made to show the difference in the results.

DSC_0173

After washing and drying.

DSC_0015

Flannel before washing and drying.

DSC_0166

After washing and drying.

I hope you have enjoyed my post today. I am plugging away at my UFOs. I’m working on a crocheted throw right now and thought I would end with a sneak peek.

photo-20

Happy stitching and have a great day.

Izz

6 Comments

February 6, 2013 · 2:02 PM

6 responses to “Cotton Chenille Quilt

  1. Your chenille quilt is beautiful but I could never bring myself to cut up a quilt like that. You are so brave! Brilliant result 🙂 Avis x

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Avis. It took a couple of deep breath before I could make the very first cuts. 🙂 They are so warm and heavy.

    Izz

    Like

  3. Wow, what a lot of work but so worth it! Well done, it looks beautiful.
    Susan 🙂

    Like

Thank you for dropping by. I appreciate your visit and comments. Have a great day :)

