After The Christmas Rush

Hello everyone, I hope the holidays were good to everyone. I got all the decorations put away and things back in their place. It always looks dull in the house after the holiday clean up, but then I head to the sewing room where there is always lots of colour 🙂   Sewing and knitting always warms the soul and body and its a good thing, because we have had a few days of very bitter cold here. -35 this morning with a wind chill of -42 brrrrrr . do not go out side unless you really have to 😦  Sew I will busy myself in the sewing room….and getting caught up on posts and reading. Here’s what I was up to ….

I was making our kids place mats to set the Christmas table. Choosing fabrics and designs for them is a challenge for me every year, unless they pick something special out. I usually pick a few Christmas fabrics while I’m at the fabric shop and decide what I am going to do with them once I get home.  I do admit I was stumped this year on arranging the fabrics and starting texting N for help. I love the new phones lol

Take a pic and send and more texting. It was fun. We figured out the arrangements and  all I had to do was start cutting fabric and piecing together. I had a couple of pieces left over since their colour scheme wasn’t working with the others, but I have great plans for them still 🙂

The first set are fun stripes, with matching square coasters these are for J&J. Its so nice when the patterns come together. Its like having writers block and then it hits you..lol

Stripe Placemat

Stripe Placemat

4 Stripe Placemats

4 Stripe Placemats

Stripe Coasters

Stripe Coasters

The patch work placemats were for my design assistant N 😉 with a centre piece for the table. I added 4 machine embroidered blocks to set off the corner patches. I assembled all the blocks first, then hooped the off white blocks for embroidery. This gave me more fabric  to work with and I found it easier. Nothing fancy for the quilting department, just a criss cross to hold it all in place.

Patchwork placemats

Patchwork placemats

centerpc

Embroidered Patchwork Centrepiece

Patch 4 placeM2

4 Patchwork Placemats

And for J&T I know how much they love the country rustic theme I put this bright fabric from my stash to good use. Along with 2 different size pot holders or hot mats. they are lined with heat resistant batting so fingers should stay safe.

Rustic Santa

Rustic Santa

Rustic Santa Pot Holders

Rustic Santa Pot Holders

4 Rustic Santa Placemats

4 Rustic Santa Placemats

And for Momma? Well I had just enough time before the big day to stitch up some new placemats for our holiday table. I took lots of photos and wanted to do a bit of a tutorial. That’s for another post 🙂 Stay tuned … thanks for dropping by Have a Great day and Happy Crafting

Izz

2 Comments

January 5, 2014 · 10:11 AM

2 responses to “After The Christmas Rush

  1. Those placemats are really pretty and look neat ! I especially like those little striped coasters. Great job!

    Like

Thank you for dropping by. I appreciate your visit and comments. Have a great day :)

