Pretty Purses at Special Request… :)

Hello and welcome ! It seems like its been a while since Ive sat down to write, Ive poked my head in a time or two to see whats new. 🙂 But I have been a little bust with special requests and trying to spring clean the yard a little. That’s when it looks like spring out there. My goodness, we’ve had snow flurries and ice pellets and white outs that we can’t see across the lake..Now, I know it’s northern Alberta but this is the first year since we’ve been here that I’ve seen snow and cold temperatures so late, or should I say say early??!!  Now I’m getting confused and off track of my post LOL 😉

Alrighty… I had made a purse or two a few weeks ago and my daughter loved hers so much she asked for a denim bag in the same pattern… The Amelia Hand Bag , by SusieDDesigns. She also wanted the handbag embellished with a bit of machine embroidery. After a few text msgs and pics shared we managed to come up with this design.  The front of the bag was changed to accomidate the machine embroidery and I made a slightly longer strap and a zippered pocket inside ( I hope I am forgiven for the changes )

Denim Amelia Handbag

Denim Amelia Handbag

Zipper Pocket

Zipper Pocket

I also added a small piping around the edge to bring the pretty blue fabric to the outside of the bag. This was a great stash buster project. The pretty blue fabric is pieces left from a previous sewing adventure and the denim is from old jeans that I never throw away when they aren’t fit to give to Good Will.

Trim

Trim

The other request I had was a repeat of the Batik  Purse. But like the denim one, I was asked to make an inside zippered pocket. I used the Batik on the pocket to give it a little contrast 🙂

Batik Purse II

Batik Purse II

Batik Purse with Pocket

Batik Purse with Pocket

It was fun working on the purses and like I said before, its a great pattern.

I have a few projects lined up in the near future. I’ve also been spring cleaning in the sewing room AND  I received an early Mother’s Day present from my Mr. Mister!!! Sew… I’ve also been busy learning how it all works…ha ha did you get the hint? I will have to get busy writing a post on that event as well ..and hope the weather starts behaving because I have a bit of raking and planting I would like to do IF it ever stops snowing here LOL

I hope you have a fantastic week stitching and crafting… take care…Izz

 

 

9 Comments

May 6, 2014 · 10:17 PM

9 responses to “Pretty Purses at Special Request… :)

  1. claire93

    you have been busy ^^ I really like this shape for a bag – lots of room for miscelleneous bits and bobs but with a practical Pocket Inside too. Well done !!!

    Like

    • Thank you Claire, yes there is lots of room in this bag, I think all the bits and bobs grow as I transfer from one bag to another LOL I have a summer bag on the go and can’t wait to show that one 🙂
      Izz

      Like

  2. More awesome bags! They’re fab and I love the zippered pocket and embroidery additions! Thank you so much for sharing and the mention. I must do a post on my blog about your lovely bags. Would that be okay with you and can I share some of your pics?

    Like

  3. Gorgeous bags! The embroidery and piping are so effective. I have some old jeans too. Oh no! More inspiration LOL.

    Like

  4. claire93

    I’ve just nominated you for the Liebster Award – you can read more about it on my blog ^^

    Like

Thank you for dropping by. I appreciate your visit and comments. Have a great day :)

