A New Pair of Socks….

Hello everyone, I hope you are all having a wonderful crafty week. Its a little rainy here today, but that’s ok, we really need the rain. I should title this post the saga of the socks lol. I had this pair 98% knitted, yes I did , and I unraveled them 😦  I wasn’t happy with the shape of the foot and how they were knitting up. I had a funny feeling from the start…66 CO sts seemed too many to me. I won’t criticize the pattern, it just wasn’t right for me. And well I had actually run out of yarn…. by a toe . I don’t mean one toe lol no but a sock toe area…I couldn’t believe it.. so I was faced with either find a contrast colour and make the toes of both socks different or unravel and start over. I also tried a cable design along the side of the sock as the pattern called for, but with this colourway, the cable was not showing up as well as I had hoped 😦

Cable

Cable

 

So the unraveling began. I went back to my fav basic sock pattern. When in a pinch eh ? CO 56 sts   🙂 and away I go. The other pattern called for K2, P1 for the leg and instep and I liked that part of it. For the basic pattern I went with K2, P2 for the leg and instep, and when all was said and done, I had yarn left over ..YEAH! lol

kppm

kppm

I used Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino, 100% merino wool. The basic sock pattern took 2 -50g skeins. ( 160m/175yds) This colour way is P450 248 and made in Canada ! 🙂 a very nice yarn.

boot sock

boot sock

I made these especially for riding 🙂  The leg is 16.5 cm (6.5″) long, just the right length to fold down over the top of my boots. We are ready to roll … where’s my helmet lol

Thanks for dropping by and I hope you have a fantastic week and weekend

Izz

 

 

6 Comments

June 5, 2014 · 10:58 AM

6 responses to “A New Pair of Socks….

  1. claire93

    brilliant socks and love the boots too ^^

    Like

  2. I love your new socks and the pattern looks great too. Is it available on the internet? Your boots are fab too! Are they motorcycle boots?

    Like

    • Thank you Avis .Yes they are motorcycle boots :). I sick pattern is from an old Knit It magazine. I did try to find it online so I could post a link. And I don’t think Knit It is in print anymore :(. It is a simple sock pattern that you can change the ribbing on very easily

      Like

Thank you for dropping by. I appreciate your visit and comments. Have a great day :)

