Sew-outs, yarn and a lot of snow!

Hello everyone, I hope you have had a creative and productive week at crafting. It’s been a little bit of this and that in my sewing room. I finished up one pair of socks(sorry no photo) and started another. This Embossed Leaves Pattern, I have knit up before and that makes the knitting go along much smoother for me when a pattern is familiar  🙂  The yarn is Knit Picks Comfy Fingering in the colour Sea Foam. Its 75% Pima Cotton and 25% Acrylic. Now I would like to take a moment to say..that I usually mention a product or web site or brand in my posts.. I in no way am making any kind of advertisement for any of these mentioned. I like to think I am passing on information to fellow crafters. When reading other’s blogs, haven’t we all thought at some point … “where could I find that?” or “what brand of yarn is that ?” I do like to share info especially regarding the machine embroidery. Its only from stumbling upon the sites and info I do have that has gotten me where my work is today. Where to buy a good quality machine embroidery thread and the stabilizers and even good quality designs. Hard as it is to believe its not just at the corner fabric shop 🙂 seeing how I am in a rural area. Sure there are the small fabric shops with yarn but the selection just isn’t there. Unfortunately a lot of the yarns or fibres are the novelty kind. I would have to say that 60% of the sock yarn I have has been purchased online, and honestly I thought I would never say that . I haven’t yet bought fabric online, I guess I’m hesitating about that one, I like to see and feel the fabric before I make a purchase. But here I am shopping and blogging 🙂

so …on with the show lol  cotton socks in Sea Foam

Sea Foam Socks

 

and a couple of sew-outs from the sketches collection at Embroidery Library . I love this eagle sketch and the train sketch caught the eye of my Mr. Mister 🙂 They will both be nice as framed pieces, once I find the right frame.

Eagle Sketch

Train Sketches

I’m not sure yet how I’m going to finish up this hand pump, stitched out in taupe colours, but I really liked it and wanted to see how it would stitch up..time wise that is. I like this particular line of designs (also from Embroidery Library) because they can be stitched to match colours of anyone decor. Another accent pillow or wall hanging and I can’t resist quilted table mats!

Taupe Hand Pump

And of course is time to stitch a Christmas design(from Embroiderydesigns.com) or two..hmmm maybe a country theme accent pillow OR a quilted table mat? I’m also thinking about Tea dyeing the piece. Sometimes I just stitch designs out and wait for the right inspiration to hit me. I like these types of designs too because some of them look as if they have been hand stitched. Now to the hand embroiderer I know you can tell in an instant 😉  I used to stitch a lot of hand embroidery and all in all I know there is nothing like hand embroidery, I think these designs… to me are reminiscent of that period in my needlework history  🙂

Country Christmas 1

 

And speaking of inspiration hitting me, I dug out some fabric that has been wanting to be a quilt..yes winter is here at least its here in North East Alberta ..lol  6 more inches of snow and cold cold temperatures..minus 27 to minus 30 Friday night..   BRRR  I am NOT ready for this lol  And that could be why I am thinking “Quilt”  I’m thinking 9 patch with a solid block staggered across and a couple of small borders..yup.. this will be something….else for me to post progress of this winter.

Winter Quilt

 

Thanks for dropping in and I hope you have a great week crafting at what makes you happy.

Izz:)

4 Comments

November 28, 2014 · 6:35 PM

4 responses to “Sew-outs, yarn and a lot of snow!

  1. Hi Izz, All lovely projects and I look forward to seeing a new quilt grow 🙂 I started buying fabric remnants online and also won a few auctions on Ebay. I only bought the brands I recognised e.g. Moda etc. and I was never disappointed with the quality. Give it a try. Just be aware that colours can vary slightly on different monitors. We are enjoying a very mild -1 C here at night 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Avis. Thats very good advise 🙂 and I am happy to take it on my next online shopping trip lol.
      Amazingly its warmed up here in the last week to -2 at night and + 5 in the day. Thats vwry unusual for this area. But I’m not going to complain lol. I know the cold temps will be back .

      Like

  2. Pingback: Merry Christmas From Alberta, Canada | Isabel's Needleworks

  3. Pingback: J&J Quilt Part I | Isabel's Needleworks

Thank you for dropping by. I appreciate your visit and comments. Have a great day :)

