Still Knitting Fast …its Winter Now !!!

Happy Winter Solstice, which means more knitting !! and staying warm and cozy ! And I’m all for that 🙂  I have a couple of finishes to show you. In a previous post (Knit fast and stay warm) I had started little mitts and a wool cabled hat with Briggs & Little wool yarn. I’m happy to say they are now finished and the little hands are staying warm and I have already tried out my new hat ! Its been windy and cold for the last few days.

Knitted finishes

Knitted finishes1

I’ve already started on the mitts to match the hat. Although the pattern for the mitts is a little confusing. Its not written in a concise way. I don’t mean to criticize but I had to unravel the mitt once I got into the cable pattern. The seed stitch pattern wasn’t looking like it should. Anyway, I rewrote it a bit so that it made sense to me  🙂  I do like the pattern and love this yarn. Briggs & Little , Regal 2ply, 100% wool in the colour Plum

Knitted finishes2

Now , not that I’ve turned into the mad hatter or anything, but I wanted to show you some of the hats that I have knit in the last few months and was waiting for the right post  🙂

The first two hats were knit using Cocoon Pattern I found on Ravelry.com. The Pink and taupe colour is Bernat Softee Chunky Twists in Tawny Rose. a discontinued colour now 😦 Brown one is knit with Patons Shetland Chunky Tweeds, in Earthy Brown

Knitted finishes3

Knitted finishes5

I added my own little, “flare” if you will 🙂 to each hat. Picking up stitches in the ribbing rows on the pink hat making a horizontal rib and adding a button. With the brown hat I added a couple of Purl rows to the crown of the hat too see how that would go 🙂  ok it was an experiment…I crocheted a circle and added that to the side ..just for “interest”.

The next in turn is a hat I knit from an eBook, called Patons Classic Wool Bulky Vol.1 Full of beautiful sweaters and hats. I have my eye on one sweater in particular. A whale of a sweater, but thats for another post 🙂 The hat pattern is called True Colors Hat , a very basic hat and very warm with the chunky yarn. I can’t find the yarn label for this one but I’m sure its Bernat Softee Chunky in an Ombre and I don’t recall the colour, sorry. I see the pattern is free on Revelry.

Knitted finishes4

This two colour gray hat is another version of the Cabled Hat. Knit in Baby Alpaca and felted. Again a button on the side to add a little something 🙂 The Baby Alpaca Yarn is a finer yarn so of course the hat is a smaller size , a very neat fit.

 

 

Knitted finishes6

I like trying out different yarns and patterns, it gives me a project to knit and it has help me with my gauge. I have always knit a little loose. For a long time I would knit with a size or two smaller knitting needles. I’m pretty happy where I am at with my knitting.

Except for finishing up the cabled mittens I think any new projects will wait until Christmas dinner is over 🙂

From the Knitting basket have a great week crafting at what makes you happy.

Izz 🙂

 

3 Comments

December 21, 2015 · 2:54 PM

3 responses to “Still Knitting Fast …its Winter Now !!!

  1. All brilliant! I love knitting with chunky wool too. The projects grow so quickly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Knit Finishes and Staying Warm ….:) | Isabel's Needleworks

Thank you for dropping by. I appreciate your visit and comments. Have a great day :)

