Hooked on Crochet …aka… Medallion Throw

🙂  Sorry about the title…I just had to do it lol  I had a busy year in 2015 for crocheting, something I’ve said that I don’t often do. Well 2015 proved me wrong .. I was asked to make 6 Medallion throws as Christmas gifts ( I work for cost for family of course) last year and working off and on and with the packing and moving last year. I surprised myself that I got them finished in time (my apologies for posting late about christmas projects) but as I got these 6 finished up another request came in and well, here I am crocheting again…By now I should be quite proficient at this particular design…wouldn’t you think ?? ha ha The really name for the pattern is Sunny Spread and I recently discovered that the pattern for this throw is free on Ravelry  Although I have had this pattern since 2008, its from the Jan/Feb issue of Crochet Today. A really nice pattern and it works up fast and for me that’s a bonus 🙂

medallionthrowbrown

medallionthrowcreammedallionthrowpurple

BBH medallionthrow

 

 

I have pics of 3 of the finished throws from  last year ( Eggplant, Cream and Chocolate) but like I said with moving and all I didn’t get pics of the blue, burgundy and harvest coloured throws so I’m afraid what’s left of the balls of yarn will have to do as a visual lol  I used  Knit Picks Yarn Brava, a nice worsted weight for all except the brown throw. I couldn’t get a rich brown in Brava so I went with a Red Heart Yarn which was a little heavier weight but still a worsted.

I started the new Medallion throw in Early January and as of a few days ago it is complete 🙂 This one is made with Patons Canadiana Worsted weight, another very nice yarn and one of my favs for throws and children’s mitts and hats. The colour here is Dark Green Tea. Its a woodsy green like evergreen trees, I think that would best describe the colour.

crochetgreentea

crochetgreentea1

The work moved along quickly as I could concentrate on crocheting a little more this year !!  lol

crochetgreentea2

The original pattern calls for 64 medallions but for the size I’ve been making I have used 10 balls of yarn for each which makes 48 medallions, a very nice lap size throw at 42″ (106cm) square.

crochetgreentea3

And I love the border too. I think it really sets it off. Well that’s my crocheting adventures for now, the wrist and hands need a bit of a break….. from crocheting anyway.

crochetgreentea4

Thanks for dropping by…have a great week at crafting

Izz:)

6 Comments

February 4, 2016 · 7:06 PM

6 responses to “Hooked on Crochet …aka… Medallion Throw

  1. These throws are quite beautiful! I can also imagine how they look in the other colors, thanks to your leftover yarn pics, lol… I think I would’ve loved the harvest one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. claire93

    lovely! I especially like the moss green

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a lovely design. Now I’ve got a list as long as my arm to try! I definitely want to make this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for dropping by. I appreciate your visit and comments. Have a great day :)

