Merry Spring and Happy Easter :)

Ahh spring time in Nova Scotia..I am SO happy to be saying that 🙂  And with spring comes spring cleaning…. which I have been doing a little of …. and painting too and thought a little machine embroidery was due. Since fresh paint was going up and new curtains. Just a quick little valance made from left over board cloth and fresh white linen cafe curtain with a little trim. I am quite proud that I keep using from my stash..mostly  …lol

powderroom6

The pic is a little dark…since I was taking a pic of the window I had to wait until evening. You can see off to the right is the other machine embroidery I stitched. This one is from the apothecary embroidery pack at urbanthreads.com. I stitched the design on the same white linen and since it is a dense design , it pulled at the sides a little, making puckering around the design.  A heavier fabric would have been a better choice but for a framed piece I think it will be ok …

powderroom4

Bees always say vintage to me…and I have a few bee designs 🙂  This design is from embroidery library.com. I have a couple of designs picked out to stitch onto a fabric shower curtain.. but thats a bigger project in the future. I use water soluble stabilizer on top of the towel as well and a tear away underneath. The top stabilizer keeps the stitches from sinking into the terri cloth. A run through the regular wash will get rid of the rest of the stabilizer.

powderroom1

powderroom3

With another room painted and cleaned up. Its time to enjoy the rest of the weekend. I did that by stitching up these adorable woven bunnies from a free pattern offered by mellysews.com ….another stash busting project….I think I’m on a roll lol and instead of stitching the eyes and nose as instructed ( like I follow instructions very well lol)  I found a embroidery design that I could edit and use on the bunny’s face… makes them look sleepy 🙂 it was a very quick and easy sewing project and took very little fabric at 9″ (23cm) tall

easterwovenbunny

Sew…..I hope you have a great weekend and Happy Easter….

Izz

2 Comments

March 26, 2016 · 9:50 PM

2 responses to “Merry Spring and Happy Easter :)

  1. Wow! You have been so busy. I’ve also done some spring cleaning and decorating. My conservatory is now the nicest room in the house to sit and sew….that is until I fill it up with too many WIPs again 🙂 I love your café style curtains.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for dropping by. I appreciate your visit and comments. Have a great day :)

