Block of The Month 2016 – April

April ?? more like May !! WOW I feel like the rabbit in Alice in Wonderland , running around ..”I’m late I’m late I’m so late” lol.Just when I think I can concentrate on sewing, life happens…oh well, I’m all caught up now and actually a little ahead whew.

Aprils Blocks were more detailed than the original plan because of course I have to change the plan 🙂

The class instructions were to cut out the pieces to be appliquéd with raw edges and machine stitched on with a zig zag stitch. Thats not the look I wanted for my quilt. I have seen this technique done before and after some time you can see little fuzzy edges of the fabric peaking out through the zig zag stitching and the second reason is I haven’t done a lot of zig zag stitching around edges and I didn’t want to do a sloppy job, so, I sew , hand stitching the pieces on to be more exact 🙂 and it was a lot of sewing but I enjoyed it and that’s important , right?

aprBOM

Instead of the raw edge I cut out the pieces with a bit of extra fabric so I could press it under. I used the thin heat & bond as the instructions called for but in the future I won’t be doing that. It made the pieces stiff and I could feel the resistance with the hand stitching.

aprBOM1

aprBOM2

8 panels total and I stitched the appliqué before I had sewn the blocks together (better handling) 🙂

aprBOM3

And here we have 2016 April’s BOM.. finally  🙂

In case you would like to take a look back and March’s BOM click (here)

aprBOM4

I’m super happy about getting this done and I have already finished May’s to be posted very soon.

Thank you so much for dropping by… I hope you have a great weekend crafting at what makes you happy ..

Izz

Leave a comment

May 20, 2016 · 10:10 AM

Thank you for dropping by. I appreciate your visit and comments. Have a great day :)

